Are There Types of Motorcycle Licenses in Florida?

Posted on

Motorcycles are one of the most enjoyable ways to travel. They can also be very efficient and economical, which is why many people wish to obtain motorcycle licenses in Florida.

We have helped many motorcyclists at Stevenson Klotz Injury Lawyers and want to share the current rules for how to get your motorcycle license in Florida. Discover the regulations and Florida motorcycle licensing requirements for testing, safety, fees, insurance and registration.

If you ever need to seek justice after a motorcycle accident, please call our compassionate and highly motivated team of Pensacola motorcycle accident lawyers for assistance.

Current Regulations for Motorcycle Licenses in Florida

A Florida resident who wants to operate a motorcycle on public roads must obtain a learner’s permit, motorcycle-only license or endorsement to a Class E driver’s license.

Florida’s motorcycle license laws apply to two and three-wheeled vehicles with an engine of 50cc and above. Any moped or electric bike modifications that bring the engine displacement above 50cc legally qualify the vehicle as a motorcycle and require the operator to have a motorcycle license or endorsement.

A regular Class E driver’s license does not authorize you to operate a motorcycle unless you have the appropriate endorsement. Likewise, a motorcycle-only license does not permit you to drive an automobile.

How To Get Your Motorcycle License in Florida

The minimum age to apply for motorcycle licenses in Florida is 16. Anyone under 18 who wants to apply must also provide a signed or notarized parental consent form.

Florida residents must adequately demonstrate that they understand the rules of the road and how to safely operate a motorcycle before receiving a license.

Obtaining a motorcycle learner’s permit

To receive a learner’s permit, you must do four essential things:

  1. Complete the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course.
  2. Pass the Class E Knowledge exam.
  3. Pass vision and hearing tests.
  4. Verify your identity and address with proof of your Social Security number and current residence.

The written Class E Knowledge exam consists of 50 multiple-choice questions. You must answer 40 questions correctly to receive a passing score. You can prepare for the written exam by studying the Florida Driver’s License Handbook.

Acquiring a motorcycle license

Learners must have their permits for at least one year without any traffic violations to apply for full-fledged motorcycle licenses in Florida. Learners must also complete a Basic RiderCourse or Basic RiderCourse updated.

The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles authorizes various centers to offer these courses under the Florida Rider Training Program. Prices vary and range from $99 to $300.

The test sponsor notifies the FLHSMV once you successfully complete the course. You have one year from that point to acquire your license.

Complete the process by bringing your completion certificate and other verification documents to the Department of Motor Vehicles or tax collector office. The current fees are $48 at the DMV and $54.25 at the tax collector’s office.

Florida Motorcycle Licensing Requirements for Licensed Automobile Drivers

Licensed automobile drivers have already proven that they understand road rules. As a result, the state only requires them to demonstrate they can operate a motorbike safely. Then the driver can receive an endorsement that serves the same function as motorcycle licenses in Florida.

If you are already a driver with at least a Class E license, you only need to complete a BRC or BRCu. You can then proceed to the DMV or tax collector’s office with your paperwork to pay the endorsement or renewal fees, which are $7 and $48, respectively.

Florida’s Motorcycle Helmet and Protective Gear Laws

In Florida, motorcyclists 21 and over do not have to wear helmets if they have at least $10,000 in medical coverage. All riders under 21 must wear a helmet, whether operating or riding a motorbike.

Florida also mandates that all riders wear approved eye protection, such as goggles or a face shield, regardless of age. Sunglasses and prescription glasses do not qualify as eye protection. Also, riders must wear protective eye gear, even if a bike has a windshield.

Registration Requirements for Motorcycles in Florida

People do not have to own a bike before acquiring motorcycle licenses in Florida. However, you must register a motorcycle you own with the Florida DMV before you can ride it on public roads. The state will not request proof of insurance for registration, but having coverage is a wise investment since accidents happen unexpectedly.

Florida’s Insurance Requirements for Motorcycles

Florida is unique because the state does not always require motorcyclists to purchase insurance for their bikes. However, all other states require motorcyclists to have coverage while riding on their roads.

Additionally, an incident may occur where Florida law enforcement charges a rider with causing a crash that involves injuries or traffic violations. The state then requires that individual to maintain bodily injury and property damage liability protection for at least three years.

Accident Compensation for Motorcycle Accidents in Florida

As with other vehicles, motorcycle riders may be due compensation after a collision. If someone else caused the accident, an injured motorcyclist could pursue compensation for damages, whether or not the rider had insurance.

Free Consultations You Can Request if You Suffer an Accident

Though you make every effort to operate your bike safely, you cannot control what others do. With so many residents having motorcycle licenses in Florida, the possibility of an accident is a stark reality.

You or a loved one do not have to manage your case alone while trying to recuperate from injuries. Contact our team at Stevenson Klotz Injury Lawyers in Florida. We have a passion for fighting for justice for our clients!

FAQs About Motorcycle Licenses in Florida

Do you need a license and registration to ride a moped?

Mopeds cannot exceed 30 miles per hour on level ground. However, Florida requires riders to register these vehicles and have either a Class E or motorcycle-only license to operate them on public roads.

What happens if you operate a motorcycle without a license in Florida?

If someone rides a motorcycle without the proper endorsement or license, the offense is a second-degree misdemeanor. The individual could face six months probation, 60 days in jail or a $500 fine. Concern for safety should motivate all riders to obtain the proper motorcycle licenses in Florida.

Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | Sitemap | Copyright © 2024 Stevenson Klotz Injury Lawyers Powered by Drive Law Firm Marketing

Free Case Evaluation


Case evaluations are 100% cost & obligation free, and if you hire us, you only pay us if we are successful in making a recovery for you.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
100% Secure and Confidential