When it comes to handling car accidents, the State of Florida has adopted a no-fault insurance law. This law means drivers in Pensacola must carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance coverage on their vehicles and seek compensation for their injuries by submitting a first-party injury claim for payment.
Who and What Does No-Fault Injury Insurance Cover?
A PIP policy will cover you and others you allow to drive your vehicle, passengers in your vehicle when an accident occurs, and relatives living in your home. A Florida driver’s insurance policy must provide PIP covering of at least $5,000 in death benefits and $10,000 in medical and disability benefits. The PIP coverage is in addition to the $10,000 in liability coverage a Pensacola driver must carry on their auto insurance policy for property damage.
PIP insurance coverage addresses medical expenses, lost income, and out-of-pocket expenses due to your injuries. Florida’s no-fault system, however, does not allow you to recover compensation for non-economic damages such as emotional distress or pain and suffering. Even though you must pursue compensation from your insurer for damages, if the harms exceed Florida’s Personal Injury Threshold, you may seek compensation from the at-fault driver.
Meeting the Personal Injury Threshold means a victim must have suffered:
- Permanent and significant disfigurement or scarring;
- Permanent injury within a reasonable degree of medical probability;
- Loss of an important bodily function; or
To recover damages from another party, you must be no more than 50% at-fault for the accident yourself, or you may not receive compensation.
Contact an Experienced Pensacola Car Accident Attorney Today
It’s important to know how to stay on the right side of the law when owning and operating a vehicle in Florida. For help complying with Florida’s laws and submitting your first-party insurance claim for payment, you should contact the skilled Pensacola Car Accident Attorneys at Stevenson Klotz today. We will use our knowledge and experience to make sure you are treated fairly by your insurance company and get the compensation you deserve. Call us at (850) 706-4226 or complete our online Contact Page to schedule your initial case evaluation today. The consultation is free, there is no obligation, and you pay nothing until you win your case. Let us answer your questions; we look forward to speaking with you.