Car insurance is mandatory for every vehicle on the road. But don’t think you can count on everyone following these rules. As much as thirteen percent of all drivers on the road don’t carry insurance. So what happens if you’re in a car accident with an uninsured driver? How can you get your car damage and medical bills covered?
There are a few different options available to get the funds you need. Continue reading to learn what they are.
Person Injury Protection (PIP) Insurance
Personal Injury Protection Insurance, also known as PIP, is included in most insurance policies. Some states require drivers to carry a certain amount of PIP coverage, while other states don’t have set minimum guidelines. Florida requires $10,000.00 of PIP insurance.
In Florida, PIP can help pay 80 percent of your medical bills when involved in a car accident, up to the $10,000.00 coverage amount listed on your policy. If you only sustained minor injuries during the accident, this might be enough. If you sustained severe injuries, this amount might not cover all your medical bills.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Uninsured motorist coverage is an optional coverage in most states, although a scant few have laws that make it mandatory. In Florida, this additional coverage isn’t required. It is suggested you carry at least a small amount of uninsured motorist coverage, however.
This coverage helps pay for damages done to your vehicle if an uninsured driver hits you. It can also be used for medical bills. However, the policy will only pay damages or medical bills up to the coverage amount in your policy, so keep this in mind.
Your health insurance may cover some or all of your medical bills sustained in a car accident with an uninsured driver. If you need assistance beyond PIP or Uninsured Motorist Coverage, you’ll want to have a lawyer reach out to your health insurance provider immediately.
When all else fails, it’s possible to file a lawsuit for damages against the uninsured driver. There are important considerations in filing a lawsuit to think about, however.
A lawsuit can take considerable time before you receive your settlement. If you need funds now, this might not be the best option for you. Sometimes, the other driver doesn’t have the funds available to pay the settlement, either.
It also must be determined that you are less than 50% at-fault for the accident in order to receive compensation for your damages.
It’s best to speak with a car accident lawyer in Pensacola, FL, before making any decisions. They can help you determine if a lawsuit is worthwhile, as well as help you find other methods of paying for medical bills or vehicle damages. Ideally, you should reach out to a lawyer as soon as possible after your accident.
More Questions About Being Hit by an Uninsured Driver in Pensacola, FL?
There are several ways to get your car damages and medical bills covered if you’re hit by a driver without insurance. When all else fails, a lawsuit might be your best option. It’s essential you work with a lawyer during this process who can help you understand your options.
Do you have more questions about being hit by an insured driver in Pensacola, FL? Or do you need legal representation after a car accident?
Contact us today. One of our representatives can answer any questions you still have. They can also set you up an appointment to speak with a lawyer if desired.