Florida is at the top of the list among states in the country with the highest rate of uninsured drivers. Indeed, a study performed by the Insurance Research Council (IRC) notes that Florida is among the top five states that have 20 percent or more of its driving population without any automobile insurance coverage whatsoever. The other states to join Florida in this alarming statistic include Michigan, Mississippi, New Mexico, and Tennessee. Simply put, approximately one out of every four drivers on Florida’s roads is likely not to have the auto insurance coverage necessary to cover damage resulting from an accident they caused.
Protect Yourself with UM/UIM Coverage
It is no surprise that anyone who is involved in a Pensacola, Florida car accident with an uninsured driver can end up in a financial bind if they have not taken precautions to protect themselves against this situation. This is because if you are hit by an uninsured driver, you could be forced to pay the medical and property costs resulting from the accident yourself – even if the crash was not your fault. One sure way to protect yourself from such a scenario is to purchase uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage as additional coverage on your auto insurance policy.
The purpose of UM/UIM coverage is to protect you financially in the event that you are injured by a driver who fails to carry bodily injury liability (BIL) coverage. By adding UM/UIM coverage to your car insurance policy, you are better able to secure the compensation you may need to cover medical bills, property damage, and recover financially from loss of income in the event that you are badly hurt in a Florida car accident.
Florida’s Auto Insurance Laws
Unlike most states in the nation, Florida law does not mandate drivers to carry third-party liability insurance on their vehicles to cover the costs of treating bodily injuries caused in a car accident. Florida law does require, however, the following car insurance coverage of every driver in the state:
- A minimum of $10,000.00 of personal injury protection (PIP) insurance coverage; and
- A minimum $10,000.00 of property damage liability (PDL) insurance coverage.
Bodily injury liability (BIL) coverage is not required under Florida law. By contrast, virtually every other state in the nation requires all drivers to pay for BIL coverage to be included in their auto insurance policies. This is so that when an accident occurs due to the policy owner’s negligence or mistake, the injured party is able to file a BIL claim to help pay for medical bills and treatment expenses. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), the average costs for injuries resulting from a car accident exceed $15,000 when accounting for missed work and costs of long-term recovery.
Florida Car Accident Attorneys
If you or someone you care about has been hurt in a Florida car accident in Pensacola or any other part of the state, remember you have the right to file a claim. The experienced Florida car accident attorneys at Stevenson Klotz will fight for you and negotiate with insurers for the best possible result. Contact us today for your initial case evaluation.
Following graduation from Cumberland School of Law at Samford University, Eric Stevenson held a number of positions including Assistant State Attorney in the First Judicial Circuit of Florida. Eric has been practicing with partner Christopher Klotz since 2015 litigating personal injury and car accidents in Alabama and Florida.