Being involved in a car accident – whether it happens in Alabama or anywhere else in the country – can cause serious injuries for the victims. If you or someone you know is in a Mobile, Alabama car accident, there are several things you should do to protect your safety and your rights after the crash.
Steps to Take After a Collision in Mobile, Alabama
The first thing to do after an Alabama car accident is to check on everyone involved in the crash. If anyone requires medical assistance, be sure to contact emergency services for help. Likewise, local law enforcement officers should be contacted right away. After these steps have been taken you – or someone trustworthy at the scene if you are too injured – should take photographs of any injuries and damage to property. Photos and videos should also be taken of the accident scene itself before anything is moved or repaired. These images and videos will be crucial in a subsequent personal injury lawsuit seeking monetary compensation for harm suffered.
Alabama Law Involving Car Accidents
State law mandates that drivers who are involved in a car accident in Mobile or anywhere else in Alabama remain at the scene of the accident. In fact, if injury or death occurs as a result of the car accident, it is considered a felony offense to hit and run or flee the scene of an accident. Alabama Code, section 32-10-2, mandates that a driver involved in an accident that causes (1) injury, (2) death, or (3) property damage must provide his or her name, contact information, and registration number to the other accident victim.
Moreover, an individual must display his or her driver’s license if requested to do so. Finally, in addition to providing this information, drivers involved in a car accident in Alabama must provide reasonable assistance to those who are injured as a result of the crash. Reasonable assistance includes making arrangements for a hurt victim to be transported to a physician or hospital for medical treatment if (1) it is obvious the treatment is needed, or (2) the victim asks.
Reporting the Mobile, Alabama Car Accident
Alabama law mandates that law enforcement officers must be called when a car accident involves an injury, death, or significant property damage. Of note, any evidence that is gathered by Alabama law enforcement, as well as the police report about the crash, can be used later in a civil lawsuit seeking monetary damages for personal injuries. An accident victim has the right to obtain a copy of the accident report from the officer that investigated the crash.
Likewise, individuals involved in an accident must report the crash to the Alabama Department of Public Safety (ADPS) within 30 days of the incident. This is required when property damage is more than $250.00 or if anyone involved in the car accident was hurt or killed. These accident report forms are available at the local sheriff’s office, police officer, or state trooper’s office.
Moreover, any car accident you are involved in should be reported to your automobile insurance company.
Car Accident Lawyers in Mobile
If you have questions about Alabama’s laws regarding car accidents, contact the Mobile, Alabama car accident lawyers at Stevenson Klotz. Our skilled Mobile, Alabama car accident attorneys can help explain your rights and obligations under the law.
Following graduation from Cumberland School of Law at Samford University, Eric Stevenson held a number of positions including Assistant State Attorney in the First Judicial Circuit of Florida. Eric has been practicing with partner Christopher Klotz since 2015 litigating personal injury and car accidents in Alabama and Florida.