If you’ve been seriously injured in a Pensacola car crash, you may be wondering how you can get a copy of the police report. The police report is a crucial piece of information you’ll need both for filing an insurance claim and pursuing compensation through a personal injury lawsuit when you’ve been injured by someone else’s negligence.
Obtaining Your Pensacola Police Report
There are several ways to request police records once they’re complete: you can access them online, in person, or via mail.
Obtain a Crash Report Online from the Pensacola Police
The Pensacola Police Department uses the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) website: floridacrashportal.gov for crash reports. To request a report on the site, you will need:
- Date of the collision
- Driver’s last name
- Crash report number
- The name of the agency investigating the crash
It may take up to 10 days for your crash report to become available online and in most cases, the reports are exempt from public disclosure for 60 days after the date they are filed.
Fees for Florida Crash Records
When accessing accident reports on the Florida Crash Portal, you are limited to a maximum of ten reports per transaction. Each report is $10 and there is a convenience fee of $2 that will be added to your transaction. So, if you order one report, the cost will be $12 and if you order two reports, it will be $22.
You have 48 Hours to Download
One you have completed your purchase, you can download your report immediately. You have 48 hours to complete the download from the download link that will be emailed to the address provided.
Obtain a Crash Report in Person from the Pensacola Police
If you are unable to get your crash records online, you can also obtain a physical copy of your accident report by going to the Pensacola Police Department. Within the first 60 days, the crash report info is excluded from public records, and the reports are only released to the parties involved under Florida law. They cost $0.15 per page and you will need your driver’s license or state ID card in order to get your crash report.
Pensacola Police Department Records
You can visit the records department at:
Pensacola Police Department
711 N. Hayne Street
Pensacola, FL 32501
8 a.m. – 5 p.m. weekdays
Obtain a Crash Report By Mail or In Person from the FLHSMV
It is also possible to request your crash report by regular mail or in person from the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles for a traffic crash in Pensacola or throughout Florida. You will need to complete a Sworn Statement to Obtain Crash Report to receive a crash report mail or in person if you are requesting the report in the first 60 days after the accident. Under Florida law, this information is not available in public records during this time.
How to Request 10 or Fewer Reports in Person
You can make your request in person for 10 or fewer crash records from the Florida Highway Patrol. You will want to visit the nearest FHP Troop Station to where the crash happened.
How to Request More than 10 Reports via Mail
When you make a request for more than 10 crash reports, you must make your request via mail. If you are within the first 60 days after the crash, you will need to include a signed statement for each crash report requested along with a request letter. Mail this information along with a check or money order made out to “FLHSMV” to:
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
2900 Apalachee Parkway, MS 28
Tallahassee, FL 32399
Processing Time for Requests via Mail
The processing time for your request to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles will take much longer than requesting information from floridacrashportal.org. You can expect to receive your records via mail after approximately 4-6 weeks.
Florida Crash Reports
Under Florida Statutes, Section 316.066, all motor vehicle crashes that occurred on a public road and resulted in injury, death, or $500 or more of damage, must be reported to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Accidents involving a hit and run, an intoxicated driver, or a commercial vehicle must also be submitted in accident reports by police officers.
What’s In a Florida Crash Report?
This report is completed by law enforcement officers who responded to the accident scene and is typically available within 10 days of the crash. The report will include information such as:
- The date, time, and location of the accident
- A description of the vehicles involved
- The names and contact information of the drivers and passengers
- The name and badge number of the officer who responded to the accident
- In some cases, the report may also include witness statements
- The names of the insurance companies of the drivers involved in the accident
The Florida Crash Dashboard
The crash data, excluding personal information, from your crash report will also go into the Florida crash data portal in the Florida Crash Dashboard. This provides a snapshot of accident statistics and crash data over time throughout the state.
Why You Need a Police Report for Your Pensacola Car Accident
Police reports contain statements from all the drivers as well as eyewitnesses, information on drivers’ licenses and insurance, and visual observations regarding the scene.
Filing an Insurance Claim
After a car accident, you’ll need to file an insurance claim and you’ll need the police report for insurance purposes. Your insurer will require a copy of the police report before they begin processing your claim.
Information for Your Car Insurance Claim
The police report will contain essential information about the accident, including:
- The names and contact information for all parties involved in the accident
- The insurance information for all parties involved in the crash
- The names and contact information for any witnesses to the accident
- A description of the accident
Without a Police Report, Your Claim May be Denied or Delayed
If you try to file a claim without a police report, your insurer will likely delay processing your claim or deny it outright.
Pursuing Compensation in a Personal Injury Lawsuit
If you were injured in a car accident caused by another driver’s negligence, you may be able to pursue compensation through a personal injury lawsuit. A police report can be used as evidence in your case to show that the other driver was at fault for the accident.
FAQs About Obtaining a Police Report
How do I get a police report after an accident?
In Florida, the way to do it is the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles, which in Florida is actually called the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. They have a web portal where you can go to get an accident report.
How do I get a police report after a Pensacola car crash?
The Pensacola Police Department uses the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles site – floridacrashportal.gov. You will need the date of the collision, the driver’s last name, the crash report number, and the investigating agency. It may take up to 10 days for your crash report to become available online. The reports are exempt from public disclosure for 60 days after the filing date.
Get Help from a Pensacola Car Accident Lawyer
The car accident lawyers at Stevenson Klotz Injury Lawyers in Pensacola, FL, can help you seek full and fair compensation for your serious injuries from a traffic crash. With our combined legal experience of over 54 years, Stevenson Klotz Injury Lawyers strives to give our clients exceptional service, frequent communication, and peace of mind.
Let Us Handle Your Car Accident Case While You Heal
Let us handle your case so that you can focus on healing. We will investigate your accident, gather evidence including the police crash records or other public records requests, and negotiate with the insurance company on your behalf. If necessary, we will take your motor vehicle accident case to trial to get you the compensation you deserve.
Let us put our experience to work for you. Schedule a free consultation with us today.